The Whole 30 – Day 4 Who Remembers Ristar?

Because I sure didn’t, that is until I broke out my Sega retro game system, you know the types with 30 games built into it?  After the kids finished their homework I broke it out for some old school side scrolling action.  

Now I know this is supposed to be about me and my Whole 30 journey, why am i talking about a game that came out 22 years ago (1995 people, FEEL OLD!!).  But that’s just it, today I felt pretty good.  I had a bit of a headache and some crankiness this morning but that was mostly due to needing to eat but having to deal with my kids before I could do that.  Man, I just gotta get up earlier and make sure I eat.  I had a bit of a fight with my toddler’s shoes (seriously, either these shoes need redesigning or my boy’s just got some fat feet) but after that I’ve had a pretty good day today.  I will say this, I’m getting a little tired of potatoes….which if you knew me would be a shock because I’m like Samwise Gamgee up in this B when it comes to a potato.

But what’s the deal with Ristar you ask?  (Ok, you’re not asking but let’s pretend like you are so I can justify talking about it)  Well part of this process has been getting off of Facebook for the week.  Getting away from the negativity and distraction it was becoming.  Now I’m getting things done and when I have down time I’m doing things I’ve been meaning to do, like play old 90s Sega games or write in this blog.  I still reach for my phone like I did before but no longer is the app there to intice me to waste entire blocks of my day.  

I want to save a little money and buy a model set to work on.  I bought a simple set with a bit of my holiday money and had a good time with it.  I think I’d buy a few more of the basic sets before investing in paints and cement and getting a little more hardcore with it.  I can’t decide if that’s a sign of regression into childhood or that I’m becoming one of those old men who like to do model car sets and then display them in my study/office/man cave.  

But it all goes back to this process.  Now I’m wondering if I want to get the app back on my phone at all.  I do miss funny memes, which my wall is covered in.  I don’t miss all of the negativity that created a swirl of imaginary arguments in my head that was giving me anxiety and keeping me up at night.  Don’t ask.  

Rereading that last bit…I wish the person writing it wasn’t me, because then I would feel ok telling that person to stop being overly sensitive and remember it’s just Facebook, just the internet, and it’s not that important.  And most of the time I do remember that and can get on with my life.  But in an age where people joke that nothing is serious until it’s updated on Facebook, that a Tweet can stir up the media into a frenzy, and I can order everything I need online and have it delivered to my home via drones while I sit on the toilet…how unimportant is the virtual world now?  How much of “reality” is in the material world and how much is online?  Are we raising a generation of overly sensitive babies…or were we exposing those babies to an overload of stimuli too early, with a brain not yet evolved enough to handle it?  This is why I truely enjoy Shabbat, to unplug from the world, even if it’s just for a day.  Maybe I’m a little old fashioned but I think we could all use a Shabbat once a week, jew and gentile alike.  

Try it out, take a day a week and don’t check your email.  Don’t answer the phone.  Don’t go on social media.  Reconnect with those around you.  Spend time with your kids.  Take the wife out for the night.  Go fishing with an old friend.  Or take a much needed nap on your couch.

But if you get the chance, definitely revisit Ristar, it’s a fun little game.

Leave a Reply

