The Whole 30 – Day 11 Not like I used to

My 7 year old daughter has this thing about food.  You see she gets tired of certain foods after about a week of having them, which is problematic when we’re buying snacks in bulk for her and her twin brother.  For example Larabars.  We had bought a box when this program started and in a week it was gone!  Mind you I didn’t eat most of them, EVERONE ELSE DID including my daughter.  So when we restocked on sunday we bought two boxes worth, damn near $30 on friggin’ Larabars (I should really buy stock in the company).  3 days later she tells my wife that she doesn’t like them now.  GURL!  YOU WERE EATING THE CRAP OUT OF MY LARABARS LAST WEEK AND NOW YOU DON’T LIKE THEM???  Well tough ’cause that’s what you are getting for school snack until it’s time to go back to the store.  Then I had to exlain why mommy and daddy weren’t buying her crap for snacks but trying to give her good stuff.  Everything we get you is delicious!  Stop whining!

Also today I had the experience of not being able to eat like I used to.  

This was breakfast.  A three egg omlet w/ salsa and an Israeli style salat w/ avocado.  I had to force myself to finish this meal.  Normally I could take this out, no problem, even with room to spare.  But I was so full from this I was almost sick.  It was delicious but it was just too much.  Also I tried slicing tomatoes and pan frying them in olive oil with some salt and pepper…AMAZING!  Sunflower seeds are like my new best friend.  I had a habit of snacking at night, pounding a bag of chips or bowl of popcorn, so sunflower seeds have taken their place.

I had the opportunity to talk to someone about something I wrote about a few days ago.  They helped me to work through some emotions and now I feel like I’m on the other side of it to some extent.  Hopefully I’ll be able to continue moving towards being a stronger person in all areas of my life.

But I still want a soda.  It’s weird because after I think about it the next thought is how sweet it will taste and I want to throw up.  It’s a weird push and pull with what I want.  But part of all this is to rework how I view food.

And right now I’m envisioning the inside of my eyelids.  Good night world.

Leave a Reply

