The Whole 30 – Days 12/13 Lost an Arm

I find one of the hardest things with this program is the “not weighing yourself” part.  I can feel myself losing weight, I feel smaller around the midsection and I’m curious to see what I weigh at this point.  I don’t know that I’m down to my goal weight of 185 yet but I feel like I’m getting pretty close.  

Yesterday I had an amzing experience.  I was trying on a pair of pants that I can usually get in to but they are always tight around the waist and thighs.  This time I put them on and found that I had plenty of room, enough so that I could stick my whole arm into my pants!  I lost an arm!  Then, in looking for a shirt, I went for one of the shirts that I hadn’t worn in more than a year because my stomach had always been too tire-like to fit into it.  It actually fit!  Suddenly I had a closet full of new clothes!  I came out and showed it to my wife, even put on the shirt I wore to our wedding which had been hanging in my closet, unworn, for more than a year.  Better than the fact I was able to fit into all of these old/new clothes was the look on my wife’s face when I came into the room wearing them.

But yesterday wasn’t all fun and games.  The twins woke up throwing up and the baby has been having some stomach problems as well.  Spent most of my Shabbat morning cleaning up vomit then realized due to the program I didnt have saltines or anything to help quell their stomachs.  This is one of the benefits of a community, I could have broke Shabbat, gone to the store and chalked it up to putting my kids’ health first, but we have many families with many young kids.  A short walk and a knock on a door and I was able to get everything I needed and more without having to detract from my Shabbat.  Of course, as it always happens, my kids get something and so I get it as well.  By mid-afternoon I was hitting the bathroom every 20 minutes.  I’m still a little queezy this morning and going to try to eat a baked potato and see if that helps.

But the one take away from this weekend is this: I’m never going back.  I will probably add a few things to my diet after this is over but the sugars are gone. My wife said that I just need to do it in moderation but I told her that I can’t.  If I have one chocolate, I have to have 10.  I don’t have one bowl of chips, I eat the whole bag by myself. I feel too good about where my body and health are going to bring that stuff back into my life.  Alcohol will be the hardest thing for me I think.  But I am willing to give it my best to feel this good.

#gofalcons

4 thoughts on “The Whole 30 – Days 12/13 Lost an Arm

  1. Found your blog by googling Whole30 and Shabbat. Another Shabbat, Kashrut observer doing a Whole30 but in the Holy Land (so no Larabars). I’m about a week behind you on day 6.

    Like

Leave a Reply

