BWYWTB – Meal breakdown

Hi folks.  Sorry for not posting more recently but it’s been busy in the Coon residence.  My wife’s teeth have finally stopped hurting her and we went to an oral surgeon and are scheduled to go back to have 5 of her teeth extracted.  Yeesh.  Don’t even bother asking about the price.  Lets just say that times like this I miss having nationalized healthcare.  Also Purim is this weekend and we’ve been getting ready for the fun as well as looking ahead to Passover.

So today I thought I would throw some meals up to give folks a little taste of what I’m eating.  

Omlete with Sweet Potatoes.  Pretty simple.  I toss in some Trader Joes salsa and avocado in my omlete as well as kosher salt on the potatoes.  I find the salt really brings out the flavor in the potatoes.  Yum!  A great way to start the day.

Spinach and chicken salad.  Diced up cucumber and tomato with crushed cashews.  Also I made a homemade dressing (in the baby food jar) of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and Trader Joes Everything but the Bagel seasoning which is SPECTACULAR!  Wife and I had this for lunch 3 times this week.  Delicious!  

This one’s a little off the road.  Brown rice spaghetti with turkey meatballs and organic french bread.  I tossed the meatballs in with the sauce into a slow cooker and let it cook on low for 8 hours and the house smelled amazing!  The sauce cooked down and OMG YUM!  I had to watch myself with both the pasta and the bread, my carb dragon was roaring.  But I felt good afterwards.

Paleo chicken nugget.  Super simple.  Breaded in almond flour with italian seasoning cooked in olive oil.  The first time I made it I did homemade fries which was dangerous so we stuck with veggies this time.

Not pictured is my wife’s failed attempt at paleo chocolate chip cookies.  They were burnt and not that good.  And yet…AND YET I KEPT EATING THEM!  I DIDN’T EVEN THINK THEY WERE GOOD AND I KEPT GOING BACK!! I eventually had to throw them out both for my own sake and, well, they weren’t very good.  It’s one of those trigger things.  I can’t imagine how I would be if they had been successful.  Dangerous.  I was explaining this to someone at synagogue on Shabbat.  Every person reacts to food differently.  I’m eating nuts as a go to snack but for him nuts don’t agree with his stomach.  Look it might be a mild allergy but that’s why it’s so important to get a good read on what your body is telling you.  And clearly my body can’t handle cookies.  Or at least my mind.  I FELT fine but I saw cookies and felt like I HAD to keep eating them.  

It only goes to show that while I may have begun a physical change as a result of my new diet and exercise, the psychological change will take longer.   I may never get passed that desire to eat junk until I am physically ill.  But I’m trying.  I’m being honest with myself about my own demons in my relationship with food, and hopefully telling all of you will keep me honest for many years and decades to come.

A Happy, Healthy, and Fun Purim to all!

Leave a Reply

