Hitting a wall

I feel like I am at a crossroads now.  All week the cravings for junk has been hitting me pretty hard.  I don’t know if that’s from Purim when I didn’t hold back on treats or if I need to switch up routines.  Same with my body, I’m looking for more weight loss and I’m not seeing it.

Part of the body thing is that when I intially lost it was from cutting out the sugars, the weight just melted off.  Now this is the grinding period, the long slow journey which will most likely take months, not weeks.  Also for all my yoga I hurt my back the other day at work and it still aches.  So I’m frustrated because I’m over here thinking, “I’m doing all this sh!t to strengthen my spine and I hurt my back picking up a box??”  But I enjoy the workouts which is why I haven’t stopped.  I will probably switch up the different sets because I’ve been consistently doing the same one each time.  Also, because I’m still not physically where I want to be, I’ll get down on myself about the remaining pudge around the middle, which is dumb considering how far I’ve come but it can be difficult when you’ve spent most of your adult life looking into a mirror and hating what you see.  Your worst critic is yourself.

Food is another area I need to shake things up.  I need to find some new and different Paleo-esque dishes to help keep things interesting.  Otherwise my mind, and stomach, go right to junk food as the answer.  Same is true for dealing with stress.  Sugar was my go-to quick fix to any funk and when I hit a slump I feel myself craving it like a zombie craves brains.  So I need something to perk me up, but preferably not a food because I don’t think that helps me.  It would help if I could ease the level of stress in my life but I don’t see that happening any time soon.

Something to stew on going into shabbat.  Shabbat Shalom everyone.

Leave a Reply

