Fighting for consistency…and life in general

Hey folks,

One of the things I have been trying to work on is some consistency with my exercise and eating routines now that I’m not doing Whole 30.  I tend to do well in the beginning of the week with exercise since I typically close on Mondays and I am off on Tuesdays, this gives me the opportunity to get a run or yoga work out in the morning, which is typically the best time for me to do that.  The eating has been harder.  I’ve talked about my snacking before and it has gotten the best of me the last few weeks.  Combine that with the inconsistent nature of my exercise and it brings me to a place where I’m feeling bloated, sluggish, and generally gross.  So, I’m going to redouble my efforts on both fronts, avoiding the sweets and snacks and getting my butt out of bed in the morning 3-4 times a week and putting in a good sweat.  I’m also going to make sure I’m blogging more, I feel like when I’m putting it out there to you guys it’s a form of accountability for me.

On another front, I was having a conversation about my future…as it were…and the inevitable question is asked:

“Well, what do you want to do?”

You would think at 35 I would have an answer beyond “not be broke.”  This started another, similar, conversation with my wife.  If I didn’t have to worry about money, what would  I want to do with my time?  (And, just to be clear, apparently “day drinking” is not an acceptable answer).  I gave it some thought…and if I’m honest with myself, I would be learning, steeped in whatever academic topic I was interested in at the moment, and then talk or write about it. This led to a longer conversation about what that would mean as a career…I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself on this. First things first, I need to get the family straight income-wise, so that we’re in a good place before I begin.  

But I think this idea has reignited some amount of hope and direction for my for my future.  That’s what I realized I was missing.  Once I had that concrete goal removed I felt like I was floundering, even though I knew what the next step was…that question kept haunting me, “what do I want to do.”  G-d willing, the next year will see me taking steps to finally answer that question.

Leave a Reply

