Food diary 1

Tonight I did up some teriyaki chicken with stir fry veggies and cauliflower rice.

I started with cutting up about a pound of boneless chicken thighs.  Breast probably would have been better but then the thighs were on mark down (and to be fair I have a thing for legs *giggity*)

So we let that marinate in the Soy Vey Teriyaki sauce for a bit while I prepare the cauliflower.  I cut one head up, cutting off the green parts, and putting the rest in the food processor using the grating blade.

Sorry, fuzzy picture.  Oh, also, I’m never in the kitchen without some tunes on.  Had my “Gangstalicious” mix on…(i am so white, haha!)

Once I’ve got the cauliflower all shredded up I put it on a pan with some paper towels to soak up the excess moisture.  This way when I cook it the “rice” won’t get so mushy.

Then I toss the chicken in the pan and get to cookin’.

I cook it on med-high, using extra virgin olive oil, until it’s cooked fully.  Then I transfer the chicken to a seperate dish as I cook the vegetables.  I just use Wegmans brand frozen asian stir fry mix, it’s cheaper and tastes just as good as anything fresh IMPO.  Once the veggies are soft and cooked I put the chicken back in with the veggies.

While that is going, I take the “rice” and toss it into a pot for about 5-10 minutes on med-high.

Then we’re ready to serve!

Yum!  And everyone had seconds!

The last week or so has seen me falling HARD off the wagon.  I haven’t put any weight on but I can feel the difference in my body.  Eating sugary treats and not exercising, I can feel it in my body, my muscles and joints.  I just have to carve out time everyday to get that burn in and stop making excuses.

But in the meantime, we are one day removed from our 9th Hebrew wedding anniversary (5th of Tammuz) and about a week an a half from the english date, 8th of July.  I think I’ll have to write something special for that one….

One thought on “Food diary 1

Leave a Reply

