Don’t blink…(not meant to be a Doctor Who reference)

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about my health journey, mostly because I haven’t been too happy with myself.  I’m still struggling with old eating habits, trying to keep my diet to a…mostly…compliant one.  But i’m at about 185, which is where I wanted to be, but now that I know I can be less I sort of want to be.  I’m curious what I would look like if I actually lost all of my pudge…but then I like pizza and beer too much.

I’ve considered doing a 3rd round, although my wife insists that I don’t really need it, just that I should be careful about what I eat, how much I eat, and when I eat.  Still, it’s cool to hear people trying out Whole 30 even now.  People are like, “you started a revolution”.  No I didn’t, it’s been around and plenty of other people have done it before me.  I would just encourage everyone to just be honest with yourself about why you are doing it and stay focused on the goal of understanding your body and your relationship with food better.

So my daughter has finally requested to have her own room and since we plan on being in the house for the foreseeable future we have to do some rearranging in the coming months.  It’s a 2 bedroom cape cod but the upstairs is totally finished so we think the best solution is for me and my wife to move upstairs and move the 2 boys into our room, giving our daughter the room they all share now all to herself.  It will probably happen in the fall right around school starting.  We need to get a few things to make this happen but we knew this day was coming sooner rather than later.  She’s growing up, going through changes emotionally (and probably already hormonal) and we are doing our best to help her as she goes from being a little girl into a young woman.

Where does the time go?  It’s super cliche for a reason I suppose but it wasn’t all that long ago she was just a big pile of chunk…and now…she’s all legs and knees…and soon, L-rd help me, other…things.  Boys already adore her.

*groan*

I need to invest in a gun.  (also for other reasons, not just boys)

Oh, also, I got a new job!  My last day at my current one is this Friday and then Monday morning I start at my new one.  It was time to move on.  I’d been with this company nearly 7 years, done plenty, but clearly there was no where else for me to go.  As I told many on my personal Facebook page, it will be the people I miss the most but now is the time.  I’m being offered more money with better hours and I will practically work in my back yard.  Seriously, I can walk out my front door and walk 5 minutes and be at my new job. They are sending me out of town for a week to train, down by Virginia Beach, so that will be a bit of a mini-vacation for me.  I’m looking forward to the challenge.  Apparently it’s a store with a bad culture and some broken processes, which no one in house has been able to overcome.  I have had the opportunity to work with my current company in two stores that were similar and joined with a group of leaders who wanted to change things, and we did, so I know what it takes to turn something like this around.  The big question won’t be my team, I can get rid of dead weight no problem, the real question is the leadership there.  Are they ready to make a difference?  Are they ready to be the best?  To set the world on fire?  If they are awesome, lets make history.  If not…well you can bring a horse to water…and I’ll do my part…but I may find myself doing more up-ward challenging than anything else.

But it will be the challenge I’ve been needing, honestly, and I’m excited for the change.

Leave a Reply

