Where is the next “Dazed and Confused”?

dazed-and-confused

“Dazed and Confused” Starring…literally everyone

I was going to add this to my list of films to make you more awesome, and I still think it is one of those films and if you came of age in the late 90’s, early 00’s and you HAVEN’T seen this film I feel very very sorry for you.  This movie is iconic.

I have always compared it to “American Graffiti” because the two movies have so much going on in common.  They are each movies starring then young, up-and-coming actors and actresses.  “American Graffiti” had Ron Howard, Mackinzie Phillips, Richard Dreyfus, Susan Sommers, and HARRISON “I SHOT FIRST” FORD.  “Dazed and Confused”?  Ben Affleck, Mila Jovovich, Adam Goldberg, Anthony Rapp, Renee Zellwegar, Parker Posey, MATTHEW “ALRIGHT ALRIGHT ALRIGHT” MCCONAUGHEY!  They are both set in the era of the previous generation, Graffiti released in 1973 was set in 1962…Dazed, released in 1994 was set in 1976.  They both tell the story of a bunch of high school seniors and the story takes place over the course of one single day.  And the soundtracks.  I can go on and on about these soundtracks.  The best hits of those eras:

American Graffiti –

  • Rock Around the Clock
  • 16 Candles
  • Why Do Fools Fall In Love
  • Surfin’ Safari
  • Barbara Ann
  • Johnny B. Goode
  • Love Potion No. 9

Dazed and Confused –

  • Sweet Emotion
  • School’s Out
  • Why Can’t We Be Friends
  • Do You Feel Like I Do
  • Low Rider
  • Hurricane

These are just a few samples, the actual list of each sound track is so much longer.  That opening seen in Dazed as the car rolls into the school parking lot and Aerosmith’s “Sweet Emotion” kicks in…phenomenal!

This movie is great from beginning to end.  Period.  It is always in my top 5 list of all time favorite movies.  There is just so much going on and it all takes place over the course of a single day.  And you are left wondering what the next day is going to bring for each of the characters.  What weed induced revelation, what unnecessarily tangled romance, what coming of age story will occur next for these kids.  And the lines!  The writing is superb and there are so many quotable lines from this film it’s ridiculous.

Which makes me kind of sad that there hasn’t been another movie, that I know of, that would be THIS generation’s Dazed or Graffiti.  What I mean by that is, a coming of age story, set in the past, that follows a group of kids over the course of a single day.  If there is one that fits this bill please put it in the comments and let me know so I can check it out.  And I don’t mean a movie set in current times.  It has to be set 10-20 years in the past to fit my arbitrary criteria.  Either mid 90s or mid 80s.  The movie “Dope” seems to be the closest I can think of off the top of my head, and I haven’t seen it yet so I can’t really make the comparison, so when I do my opinion on this may change.

In any case.  If you have NEVER seen Dazed and Confused…stop what you are doing right now.  Stop it!  NOW!!

Stop-it

Go and watch this movie.  RIGHT.  NOW.  And if you have seen this film…go watch it again!  Do you own it?  No?

raw (1)

Thankfully streaming is a thing, so go and find it and watch it!

Also if you ever wanted to know what I was like in college, this pretty much says it all….

4-Dazed-and-Confused-quotes

You’ll get it when you see the movie…

Leave a Reply

